Wie lang ist die Akkulaufzeit jetzt dann wirklich?

Die Autonomie unseres Tablets ist natürlich eine entscheidende Frage. Wir könnten die Autonomiedaten mit den üblichen Angaben der Tablet- und Smartphone-Hersteller angeben. Angesichts der Kapazität unserer Akkus (9.800 mAh für das SP08 und 10.000 mAh für das SP10) wären diese Zahlen natürlich sehr beeindruckend. Allerdings werden diese Messungen im Allgemeinen auf der Grundlage einer Videoübertragung auf einem Bildschirm mit 200 nits durchgeführt, was nicht wirklich einer normalen Nutzung entspricht.

Es gibt noch komplexere Testverfahren, wie das Surfen im Internet, das Ansehen und Bearbeiten von Fotos und Videos, Datenbearbeitung usw. In diesem Fall sind die Ergebnisse etwas aussagekräftiger. Wenn wir unsere Tablets nach diesen Kriterien testen, erhalten sie die folgenden Ergebnisse: 25 Stunden Autonomie für das SP08 und 20 Stunden für das SP10 (immer bei einer Helligkeit von 200 nits gemessen, wie auch bei anderen Herstellern).

Aber wir wollten noch einen Schritt weiter gehen und Messwerte ermitteln, die unsere Konkurrenz nie angeben würde, basierend auf den Erfahrungen unserer Kunden. Daher testeten wir unsere Tablets unter Verwendung der beliebtesten Navigationsapp, Navionics Boating. Es wurden drei Arten von Tests durchgeführt, bei denen die mobilen Daten deaktiviert waren und eine Navigationsspur aufgezeichnet wurde:

1. bei 100 % Helligkeit (1000 nits),
2. bei 60 % (oder 600 nits, was 25 % mehr ist als bei einem iPad, das auf 100 % eingestellt ist)
3. und schließlich bei einer für viele Bootsfahrer üblichen Navigationseinstellung: Der Bildschirm ist ständig eingeschaltet, wenn man in den Hafen einläuft/aus dem Hafen ausläuft/am Ankerplatz ankommt, und wird in der übrigen Zeit alle 15 bis 30 Minuten aufgerufen, um einen Standort festzulegen oder die Route neu zu berechnen.

SP08:

1. 7.30 Stunden
2. 20 Stunden
3. 120 Stunden

SP10*:

1. 4.30 Stunden
2. 12 Stunden
3. 72 Stunden

Wir sind auch dabei, Rückmeldungen von Kunden zu erfassen. Zum Beispiel von Nutzer, die im letzten Winter eine Transatlantikreise unternommen haben (ausgestattet mit einem SP08, da das SP10 noch nicht auf dem Markt war), welche ihr Tablet im Durchschnitt alle drei Tage wieder aufgeladen haben.

Und zu guter Letzt: Wir können nicht genug darauf hinweisen, dass der Bildschirm bei weitem der größte Verbraucher Ihres Tablets ist. Bei einem Tablet, das bei voller Sonneneinstrahlung genutzt werden kann, ist dies noch ausgeprägter: Sie sollten wissen, dass dies bei 100 % Helligkeit fast 90 % des Gesamtverbrauchs ausmacht.

* Sie werden es kaum glauben, aber eine Erhöhung von 8 auf 10 Zoll bedeutet eine Vergrößerung der Fläche um mehr als 60 %.

Ist ein Bildschirmschutz erforderlich?

Ihr Tablet ist mit Gorilla Glass ausgestattet, ein zusätzlicher Schutz ist nicht erforderlich.

Wie kann ich mein Tablet an einer 12-Volt-Quelle auf dem Boot aufladen?

Für eine optimale Aufladung empfehlen wir die Verwendung eines Quick Charge 3.0-kompatiblen USB-Adapters für den Zigarettenanzünder oder die Installation von USB-Steckdosen nach demselben Standard.
Außerdem raten wir Ihnen, ein qualitativ hochwertiges Kabel zu verwenden, vorzugsweise ein “Fast Charge”-Kabel, das so kurz wie möglich ist.

Welche Anwendungen empfehlen Sie für die Bootsnavigation?

Die Auswahl ist riesig, alle für Android 10 verfügbaren Navigations-Apps sind benutzbar. Die gängigsten sind:
Navionics Boating, Aqua Map Marine (ein spezielles Angebot ist beim Kauf des Tablets verfügbar), Savvy-navvy, C-Map, OpenCPN, Qvtlm.
Sie können auch Routing-Anwendungen verwenden wie: Sailgrib WR, unser Favorit: Vergessen Sie nicht, die 90 Tage kostenlose Premium-Version beim Kauf Ihres Tablets zu testen, oder Avalon Offshore.
Für den Rest gibt es eine ganze Reihe interessanter: Windy für Windvorhersagen, SailfreeGPS für die Anzeige verschiedener Daten (und die Ankerplatzalarmfunktion). In Bezug auf Ankerplatzalarme gibt es auch My Anchor Watch oder Sailgrib AA.

Wie erhalte ich Hilfe zu Android 10?

Unser Support ist auf das Tablet selbst beschränkt, wir können keinen Support für Android-Funktionen gewährleisten. Hierfür empfehlen wir Ihnen die von Google angebotene Android-Hilfe:
https://support.google.com/android/?hl=de

Im Internet finden Sie auch viele andere Informationsquellen.

Wie verwendet man eine SD-Speicherkarte?

Damit eine SD-Karte verwendet werden kann, muss sie im Format FAT32 formatiert sein. Es ist möglich, die Karte auf dem Tablet neu zu formatieren. Achtung, Sie verlieren dabei alle Daten auf der Karte.
Es gibt 2 Möglichkeiten, die Karte zu verwenden, entweder als Speichererweiterung des Tablets (interner gemeinsamer Speicher) oder als externer (mobil) Speicher.
Wenn Sie die Karte als Erweiterung des internen Speichers verwenden, speichert das Tablet die Daten automatisch auf der Karte, wann immer dies möglich ist.
– Gehen Sie zu Einstellungen / Speicher, wählen Sie SD-Karte, dann klicken Sie auf die 3 Punkte oben links und formatieren Sie als internen Speicher.
– Gehen Sie zurück zu “Speicher”, klicken Sie auf “Interner gemeinsamer Speicher” und aktivieren Sie den Speichermanager.
– Gehen Sie zurück zu “Speicher”, klicken Sie auf “SD-Karte” und dann auf die 3 Punkte oben rechts: Sie können dann auf “Daten migrieren” klicken, um alles zu übertragen, was auf der Karte sein kann.
– Falls nötig, können Sie Inhalte vom internen Speicher auf die SD-Karte manuell verschieben, indem Sie auf “Interner gemeinsamer Speicher” und dann auf die 3 Punkte oben rechts klicken. Aber normalerweise sollte der Speicherplatz-Manager dies automatisch erledigen.

Wenn Sie zur externen Speichernutzung zurückkehren möchten, gehen Sie zurück zu Speicher/ SD-Karte, klicken Sie auf die 3 Punkte und wählen Sie “Als mobil formatieren”.

Wie überträgt man Dateien von einem PC?

Google hat den Modus “USB-Massenspeicher” in Android 10 gelöscht.
Um von einem PC aus auf das Tablet zuzugreifen, müssen Sie die Entwickleroptionen aktivieren (gehen Sie zu “Über das Telefon” und geben Sie 7-mal “Build-Nummer” ein).
Unter “System” / “Erweitert” haben Sie Zugriff auf die “Entwickleroptionen”, dort müssen Sie den Modus “USB-Debugging” aktivieren. Dann gehen Sie ein wenig weiter runter und klicken auf “Standard USB Konfiguration”.
Und in diesem Menü wählen Sie “Dateiübertragung”.
Nun müssen wir das Tablet neu starten. Beachten Sie, dass Sie auf manchen PCs erst das USB-Kabel zwischen dem Tablet und dem PC anschließen und dann das Tablet neu starten müssen, um auf das Tablet zuzugreifen.

Wie kann der Bildschirm dauerhaft eingeschaltet bleiben?

In Android 10 ist es nicht mehr möglich, den Bildschirm so einzustellen, dass er dauerhaft eingeschaltet bleibt. Daher wurde diese Funktion oft zu Navigationsanwendungen hinzugefügt. Dies ist zum Beispiel der Fall bei:

  • Navionics Boating (Menü/ Einstellungen/ Bildschirm ein)
  • AquaMap: Wählen Sie in den Einstellungen “Bildschirm-Timeout deaktivieren”
  • OpenCPN : klicken Sie auf die 3 Punkte oben rechts, dann auf OpenCPN-Einstellungen, dann auf “Anzeige” / “Nicht in Standby schalten”
  • Sailgrib WR (wenn der Navigationsmodus eingeschaltet ist)

Sie können auch eine Anwendung wie Keep Screen On verwenden.

Wie kann man von einem Smartphone-Display zu einem Tablet-Display wechseln?

Das “Standard”-Display verhält sich wie ein Smartphone. Wenn Sie zu Einstellungen/Anzeige/Erweitert/Anzeigegröße gehen, werden Sie sehen, dass die Anzeige auf “Standard” eingestellt ist: Ziehen Sie den Cursor nach links oder drücken Sie “-” und Sie erhalten die Tablet-Anzeige (und die Bildschirmdrehung).
Beachten Sie, dass Sie unter Einstellungen/Anzeige auch die Schriftgröße anpassen können.

Wichtiger Hinweis: möglicherweise müssen Sie das Tablet neu starten.

Wie kann man in den Vollbildmodus wechseln?

In Android 10 und 11 gibt es keine Möglichkeit, den Vollbildmodus in den Einstellungen zu aktivieren. Sie können jedoch eine Anwendung installieren, die dies anbietet, wie diese hier: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.full.imm

-


Haben Sie nicht die gewünschte Antwort gefunden? Zögern Sie nicht, ein Ticket auf unserer Support-Zeite.

What is the actual battery life?

The question of the autonomy of our tablet is clearly crucial. We could communicate the autonomy data using the usual methods of tablet and smartphone manufacturers. Given the capacity of our batteries (9,800 mah for the SP08 and 10,000 mah for the SP10), these figures would obviously be very attractive. However, these measurements are generally made on the basis of a video broadcast on a screen set at 200 nits, which does not really correspond to standard use

There are more complex test procedures, involving web browsing, viewing and editing photos and videos, data manipulation, etc. In this case, the results are a bit more telling. If we test our tablets according to these criteria, they obtain the following results: 25 hours of autonomy for the SP08 and 20 hours for the SP10 (always measured at a brightness of 200 nits, like our competitors).

But we wanted to go one step further and establish metrics that our competitors would never report, based on our customers’ actual experience. So we tested our tablets using the most popular navigation application, Navionics Boating. Three types of tests were performed with mobile data disabled, recording a navigation trace:

1. at 100% brightness (1000 nits),
2. at 60% (or 600 nits, which is 25% higher than an iPad set to 100%)
3. finally, at what represents a typical navigation for many boaters: screen permanently on when entering / leaving port / arriving at anchorage, and consulted every 15 to 30 minutes the rest of the time, to make a point or recalculate a route.

SP08:

1. 7.50 hours
2. 20 hours
3. 120 hours

SP10*:

1. 4.50 hours
2. 12 hours
3. 72 hours

We are also starting to collect feedback from customers. For example, those who went on a transatlantic voyage last winter (equipped with an SP08, as the SP10 was not yet on the market), recharged their tablet on average every 3 days.

Lastly: we can’t stress enough that the screen is by far the biggest consumer of your tablet. This is even more pronounced on a tablet that can be read in full sunlight: you should understand that at 100% brightness, it is almost 90% of the overall consumption.

*You mightn’t think it, but going from 8 to 10 inches results in a more than 60% increase in the surface.

Do I need a mobile connection (or a SIM card) to navigate?

Customers often ask us whether they need to insert a SIM card into the tablet to navigate. No, it is not necessary at all.
It’s almost become an urban legend, which originated in the Apple world: on iPads, the cellular chip and the locator chip are on the same circuit board and so models without a cellular chip also don’t have GPS chip. As a result, many have concluded that a cellular network connection (and therefore a SIM card) is required to enable location.
This is absolutely false, localization works very well without a SIM card, it uses the various satellite networks accessible anywhere in the world. In the case of the SailProof tablet, the tracking chip will combine signals from the GPS (American), GLONASS (Russian) and GALILEO (European) networks, possibly corrected by the American (WAAS) and European (EGNOS) SBAS networks. You will therefore obtain a very precise position, even in the middle of the Atlantic, thousands of kilometers from any cellular network.
On the screenshot below (taken in real conditions, WIFI and 4G connection deactivated), you can see that the signal of 21 satellites is acquired (for 28 visible in total) which allows positioning with an error of only one meter.

GPS satellite cover SailProof tablet

How do I charge my tablet with a 12 volts source on the boat?

To get the best charge, we suggest using a 2.4A or 3.0A compatible USB cigarette lighter adapter (check our shop) or installing USB sockets of the same capacity.
In addition, we also advise you to use a good quality cable, preferably “fast charge”, and as short as possible.

What applications do you recommend for boat navigation?

The choice is huge, all the navigation apps available for Android 10 are usable. The most common are:
Navionics Boating, Aqua Map Marine (a special offer is available when purchasing the tablet), Savvy-navvy, C-Map, OpenCPN, Qvtlm.
You can also use routing applications like: Sailgrib WR, our favorite: don’t forget to test the 90 days free premium version when buying your tablet, or Avalon Offshore.
For the rest, there are quite a few interesting ones: Windy for wind forecasts, SailfreeGPS for displaying different data (and the anchorage alarm function). In terms of anchorage alarms, there is also My Anchor Watch or Sailgrib AA.

How to get help on Android OS?

Our support is limited to the tablet itself; we cannot ensure support on Android features. For this, we suggest you refer to the Android help offered by Google:
https://support.google.com/android/?hl=en
You will also find many other sources of information on the Internet.

Can I connect an AIS to my tablet?

Yes, it is completely possible. If you install an AIS transponder that transmits its data over WIFI (or through a WIFI multiplexer), you can easily retrieve this data and therefore display the AIS targets in a compatible application such as Navionics, SailGrib or AquaMap for example.
In general, configuration is quite simple. However, it differs from one device to another, and from one application to another. We therefore advise you to contact the provider of the AIS or the application to find out the procedure to follow.

How to install an SD memory card?

To be usable, an SD card must be formatted to FAT32. It is possible to reformat the card on the tablet. Important note: you will lose all the data on the card.
There are 2 ways to use the card, either as a tablet memory extension (internal storage) or as an external (portable) memory.
When you use the card as an extension of the internal memory, the tablet will automatically place the data on the card whenever possible:
– Go to Settings / Storage, choose SD card, then click on the top left 3 dots and then format as internal memory.
– Go back to “Storage”, click on “Internal shared storage” and activate the storage manager.
– Go back to “Storage”, click on “SD card” and then on the 3 dots in the top right: you can then click on “Transfer data” to transfer everything that can be on the card.

If you want to go back to external memory use, go back to Storage / SD Card, click on the 3 dots, and choose “Format as portable memory”.

How do I transfer files from a PC?

Google has deleted “USB mass storage” mode in Android 10.
To access the tablet from a PC, you must enable the developer options (go to “About phone” then tap 7 times on “Build number”).
You will have access to the “Developer options” under “System” / “Advanced”. You will then have to enable the “USB debugging” mode. Then you go down a little further, click on “Default USB Configuration” and in this menu you choose “File Transfer”.
Now you will have to reboot the tablet. Note that, on some PCs, to access the tablet, you must first connect the USB cable between the tablet and the PC and then restart the tablet.

How can I program the 2 configurable buttons available on my tablet?

Using an application such as BUTTON MAPPER. This will allow you to add accessible features (system features, launching an application, shortcut, etc.) without having to go through the touch screen, which can be very useful in difficult conditions.
It is common, for example, to set the increase and decrease in brightness. You can even set different functions on the same button depending on whether you perform a short press, a double-click or a long press.

How do I keep the screen on permanently?

In Android 10, it is no longer possible to set the screen to keep it permanently on. Therefore, this function has often been added to navigation applications. This is the case, for example, with:
– Navionics Boating (Menu/ Settings/ Screen on)
– AquaMap: in the settings, choose “disable screen timeout”
– OpenCPN: click on 3 dots at the top right, then OpenCPN settings, then “Display” / “Do not put in standby”
– Sailgrib WR (when Navigation mode is on)

You can also use an application like Keep Screen On 

How do I switch from smartphone type display to tablet type?

The “default” display behaves like a smartphone. If you go to Settings/Display/Advanced/Display Size, you will see that the display is set to “Default”: drag the cursor to the left or press “-“ and you will get the Tablet display (and the screen rotation).
Note that in Settings/Display you can also adjust the font size.

NB: You may need to restart the tablet.

How do I switch to full screen mode?

In Android 10 and 11, there is no full screen mode activation in the settings. You can nevertheless install an application that will offer it, like this one: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.full.imm

Is a screen protector required?

Your Tablet is equipped with a Gorilla Glass, so no additional protection is required.

Which 4G frequency is usable in the United States? Is my tablet compatible with the Verizon network?

Note: Even if the EMEI is not recognized by the Carrier*, which is not strange because we work with an industrial factory and they don’t have to publish the EMEI in the public domain, your tablet is usable with a large number of 3G/4G frequencies.

Here are the 4G frequency bands compatible with our tablet:
LTE-FDD: B1 B2 B3 B4 B5 B7 B8 B20
LTE-TDD: B38 B39 B40 B41
You’ll find on this chart the bands used by the main US carriers:

US main broadbands

* We know that Verizon dealers usually say that our tablet is not compatible with their network, but we can assure you that many of our US clients are using the Verizon 4G network without problem. So please, don’t hesitate to insist 😉


Haven’t found the answer you needed? Please don’t hesitate to open a ticket on our support page